Tier 1 (General)

The Tier 1 (General) category allows highly skilled people to look for work or self-employment opportunities in the UK. Tier 1 (General) migrants can seek employment in the UK without a sponsor, and can take up self-employment and business opportunities here From the 6th April 2011 the Tier 1 (General) category has closed, however if you are currently in the UK in one of the following categories you may be able to extend your stay:

  • Tier 1 (General)
  • Highly skilled migrant
  • Writer, composer or artist
  • Self-employed lawyer
  • Highly Skilled Migrant Programme (HSMP), if you are eligible to switch into Tier 1 (General).

The following information is given to provide a generalised overview of the criteria required for the Tier 1 (General) extension visa. If you are in the UK in one of the following categories:

  • A Tier 1 (General) migrant under the Immigration Rules in place before 19 July 2010;
  • A highly skilled migrant;
  • A writer, composer or artist; or
  • A self-employed lawyer.

The total points score must be at least 95 points. If you are in the UK in any other eligible category, your total points score must be at least 100 points (unless you are covered by the HSMP Forum judicial review judgment)

Under Tier 1 (General) points are awarded for attributes which consist of Age, Qualifications, Earnings and UK Experience; English language and Maintenance.

In order to extend your stay in the UK under the Tier 1 (General) category, you must initially meet the points criteria as well as providing the correct supporting documents to evidence the points you are claiming. In the event you meet all the points criteria but the appropriate supporting documents are not attached to the application, the Tier 1 (General) extension application will be refused.

If you are granted an extension as a Tier 1 (General), you will be granted leave to remain for a maximum period of 3 years.